Help needed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help needed!

I graduated this May and got a job in Virginia. I am trying to get a learner's license and the local DMV is not accepting my EAD card and about to expire I-20 as my proof of legal presence. Since my I-20 is expiring next month they are not willing to issue a learner's permit thus a driver's license. Please give some suggestions. I cannot file for H1B till next year. Is it possible for my University's international centre to extend my I-20 even though I have graduated?thanks

Your question will be posted on our wall at http://www.facebook.com/desiopt1 on July 28th please follow the post and forum.
    If you feel this community is useful, please invite your friends by following below steps
    1. Goto http://facebook.com/desiopt1
    2. Find "Suggest DesiOPT.com to Your Friends" - Click on "See All" and Invite your friends
    3. If you can't find the link, refer http://desiopt.com/include/themes/cu...s/fbinvite.php

Thanks
    Www.DesiOPT.com

Comment

New I20 will be Issued by your school from your OPT start date to next year for a period of 1 year

Comment

Your school should issue a new I-20 when you get an OPT card with same expiration date as OPT card. Please call them.

Comment

Legally, you can not be in the U.S once your EAD and i-20 expire next month. Have you filed/applied for a STEM extension? You will be out of Immigration status between now and next year (when you file for H1-B) if you haven't applied for a STEM extension. If your coursework does not fall under STEM, your stay in the U.S comes to an end when your EAD expires, understandably the DMV is not accepting your proof of legal presence to support your license application. To add more, I do not understand how if your graduated in May, 2013; your OPT expires next month! You might want to ask the International Office at your University.

Comment