Should I do OPT or wait for my marriage based interview?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • aliabbasi88
    • Nov 2014

Should I do OPT or wait for my marriage based interview?

I'm currently an F-1 student. 4 months ago I got married to US citizen. Last month we applied for the marigage based green card at Chicago locaton at NCS. Our application inlcudedI-130, I-485, I-765 etc. I have my biometric appointment next week after that I am expecting to get my work authorization in 3-4 months. I am graduating in April from my school. I want to know should I apply for my OPT after completing my studies or just wait for my marriage based interview for green card? Because there will be 3-4 months gap after completing my studies and having a interview. What will be my status during those few months? Is it okay if I dont apply for my OPT and just wait for few months for my interview for the green card?
  • onoptgirl
    • Nov 2014

I am in the same boat

Originally posted by aliabbasi88 View Post
    I'm currently an F-1 student. 4 months ago I got married to US citizen. Last month we applied for the marigage based green card at Chicago locaton at NCS. Our application inlcudedI-130, I-485, I-765 etc. I have my biometric appointment next week after that I am expecting to get my work authorization in 3-4 months. I am graduating in April from my school. I want to know should I apply for my OPT after completing my studies or just wait for my marriage based interview for green card? Because there will be 3-4 months gap after completing my studies and having a interview. What will be my status during those few months? Is it okay if I dont apply for my OPT and just wait for few months for my interview for the green card?
    Hi there