[B][COLOR=#0000cd]OPT/CPT Blast Resume to 2500+ employers [/COLOR]
[/B]
[SIZE=3][FONT=comic sans ms][B][COLOR=#0000cd][SIZE=4]Am I eligible for OPT if Masters completed in less than 1 year?[/SIZE][/COLOR][/B]

Students pursuing Masters and looking to complete degree requirements within 1 year have this question in mind. Few DesiOPT readers have shared their opinion on this topic. Listing responses from readers:

[B]Response:[/B] Yes, you can get OPT for completing Masters in 1 Academic year even I got OPT and I completed my masters in 11 months !! It shouldn't be a problem !!

[B]Response: [/B]For OPT you should maintain F-1 status for two semester + should be on F-1 at the time you apply for OPT. But still confirming with DSO doesn't harm.

[B]Response:[/B] Every university has different set of rules for being eligible for OPT application. you might have to check with the office of international affairs from your university for the rules that apply to you. e.g for our university they say that you need to be on F1 at the time of application(1 year period on F1 is not compulsory)

[B]Response: [/B]Check with offce of international students of your university. Every university has different rules. I changed my status from H4 to F1. For me rule was 2 consecutive sem+ F1 status at the time of filing OPT. In some universities it is 1 sem/ quarter + f1 status at the time of filing. Talk to your OISS ahead and do all formalities well on time to avoid hassle .

[B]Response:[/B] Hmm you need one full academic to get opt.. and academic year is defined by university ..

Eligibility criteria listed by universities (listing few)

As per dartmouth.edu

Q: Am I eligible for OPT?